If I Were a Fictional Character … New Feature!

ifiwereafictionalcharacterHi guys!

So today is the day I try out an idea for a new feature here on Breezy Reads. I designed it to share a little bit about myself with all of you, while still keeping it book related.

How does it work? Well, I choose a character from a book that I’ve read and compare myself to them.

For example: Am I as loyal as Rose Hathaway? Am I as funny as Ella from Ella Enchanted? Am I as evil as Voldemort? Am I as artsy as Clary or Echo? Or as snobbish as Evie Greene?

It can be anything from looks, habits or personality. It could be a similar talent, like or dislike.

Absolutely anything!

So, who will I kick off with today?

Say hi to Lilac LaRoux from These Broken Stars

thesebrokenstars.

Lilac is one of the galaxy’s most recognized faces. Coming from a wealthy, extravagant family she is practically considered royalty. She has been groomed, sheltered, protected and controlled all of her life until the events of These Broken Stars changes her forever.

What do miss LaRoux and I have in common?

We both have a really persistent and resilient nature.

Simply put, when something has to be done that I have no choice in, I do it. No complaints. No excuses. I just get it done.

Want some examples?

I have a mother who doesn’t believe she’s a taxi (haven’t we all heard that line before -__-). So when it came to getting to school everyday? Yup, I had to do the hour walk twice a day. Every day. No excuses.

And you know what? I didn’t even complain. I’m kind of stunned now when I think about it. That’s a lot of walking.

I guess that’s when I realized I am really persistent. A lot of people told me they would have given up and do anything for a ride.

izifunny-gifdump-15-gifs_14

Other examples include school work. This stupid piece of pointlessness need to be done tomorrow? No probs. I’ll just knuckle down and do it.

Get stuck with a lame partner in class?

areyoufuckingkiddingme

Yeah, I’ll just about never have this reaction.

I’m a lot more like ...

belle_shrug

Yeah. I just compared myself to the bookish princess. I’m on a roll today!

Basically, you won’t hear me complain, whine, moan or bitch about a lot of things. I just deal with it and move on.

More examples? Have to train the hopeless newbie at work? Fine, I’ll teach them everything I know.

Go to camp and get an awful smelling/uncomfortable/stained/dirty sleeping arrangements? That sucks, but really, I have nowhere else to sleep.

Seriously. Hahaha. Now when I really think about it, I’m absolutely bonkers. Who wouldn’t complain about a gross bed? Why did I just put up with it?

I’m so weird.

DnHGY

I guess I think complainers are annoying, but that’s not why I am like I am. It’s just in my nature. That’s why I think I’m going to do so well in my upcoming trip- three months away from everything and everyone I know, little comforts, huge language barriers, strange food (yes, food is a big thing to me) but I will perceiver. I’m not going to give up half way and say that I want to go home. Why? I have to do this, and if this is what it takes to have this experience, then so be it, I will cope and not utter a word.

How is this like Lilac?

I feel like Lilac is the same in this. Maybe a little bit of stubbornness also comes into play – but if she has to do something, she just does it. Walk through kilometers of bush in uncomfortable shoes? Ouch, okay. Walk through piles of dead bodies to rescue her friend? Uh huh, what choice does she have? She barely complains, even though Tarver expects her too. I really admire this about her, in turn meaning I admire this in myself. Which I do – it’s one of the few things I can say I like about myself.

What do you guys think? Do you have a similar personality trait? Can you relate to Lilac in another way, too? Do you feel she is also very persistent?

13 thoughts on “If I Were a Fictional Character … New Feature!

  1. First of all, I love this feature! I can’t wait to see what other characters you pick :) I actually didn’t find myself connecting to Lilac as much as I did with Tarver. I’m a bit more of the “I’ll grudgingly take care of you and when I do end up liking you I won’t show it” sort of person :D

    • I actually had so much fun creating it. I can’t wait to do more!
      Hahaha! Oh geeze, I actually couldn’t connect to Tarver all that well. I’m not that kinda person at all! If I dislike someone first, but then decide I like them, I would totally make sure they know. I’d feel awful if I didn’t!
      Thanks for commenting, Kayla!

  2. Luuuurve the new feature, brilliant idea. I loved Lilac’s character, she was sassy, independent and a free thinker. It was one of the best books I’ve read. Tarver’s the silent bloody type, but I have a soft spot for him, he had to put up with lilac and her theatrics.

    • It’s one of mine, as well! That’s the perfect way to describe Tarver and Lilac. I love both of there characters!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Very fascinating Brea, I love your new feature! Glad to hear that you find ways to go through life a lot easier by complaining less. Because no one likes people who complain all the time! Love your Belle gif lol.

  4. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week | Breezy Reads

  5. Oooo I like this feature! :D I cannot really comment on Lilac, since I haven’t read These Broken Stars yet, but I think she sounds like an awesome character.
    And I think being resilient is an excellent character trait, and will be great when you’re under pressure or given a crappy task at work or something, haha.

    • Read it, Chiara! One of the author’s is Aussie!

      It’s pretty good when you are given awful tasks. But I’m certainly not great under pressure! Especially when you have more than one thing to do. :S

  6. Pingback: 19 Dilemmas Every Book-Lover Has Faced At Least Once | Sharing Interesting Stuff, Updates News & Free Tips

  7. Pingback: 19 Dilemmas Every Book-Lover Has Faced At Least Once | Essential Post

  8. Pingback: 19 Dilemmas Every Book-Lover Has Faced At Least Once | Whats the Buzz ?Whats the Buzz ?

  9. Pingback: あらゆる愛書家が少なくとも一回取り組んだ19のジレンマ | こんなに美味しいレシピがあるとは・・・料理大好きの人が参考にするブログ!

Leave a Reply

