Review: Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

51Up7C1dIZL__SS500_Author: Alexandra Adornetto

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult

Published: 31st August, 2010.

An angel is sent to Earth on a mission.

But falling in love is not part of the plan.

Three angels – Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human – are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.

Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.

The angel’s mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her? – Goodreads.

I had heard such great things about this novel and I had really high expectations. I’m sorry to say I was sorely disappointed.

I think the story line is good – angel Bethany becomes too human for her own good, falls in love, oversteps her earthy purpose and causes all sorts of rebellious trouble. However, I believe that character dynamic and tension building was not at the level I was expecting.

The biggest let down for me was Xavier and Bethany’s relationship. I think a good love story is built upon with character growth and experiences. I simply hate the ones that are “love at first sight” without any reasoning or building. I just couldn’t gauge any depth in their love or relationship. It got better towards the end, because they had spent time and experiences together. But just jumping straight into it? Didn’t work for me at all.

Maybe I put too much value on the love side of things. But I think it is an important component of the plot that the story relies on. Is their love not what drives the majority of Beth’s decisions? What she risks herself for? Why she becomes so entirely human; more so than any other angel? I think there is great importance on their relationship – and honestly, I just didn’t believe in it. This weak link brought the effectiveness of the story down a notch.

Tension was also nonexistent. It was almost predictable. All the problems that occurred generally had a neat, all too convenient solution. Heroes and villains were also predictable. I guess that’s kind of a given though; angels and demons, durh Brea?

I did however, like the descriptions and simple, easy to follow writing style – lazy reader heaven! It greatly appealed to me, and I loved the descriptions. The book was paced well and I didn’t find it too slow or too fast. It had a nice, straightforward flow and was pleasant to read.

I will also acknowledge that Alexandra was only 17 when she wrote Halo. This doesn’t change my opinion of the book, but I will recognize that Alexandra is very talented and a very promising author in years to come. The level this was written at 17? My age? Incredible. I would never be able to do such a thing.

My final rating is 3 thumbs up! Better character development, and it would have been a four.

3thumbsup

Leave a Reply

