Review: Origin

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Young Adult, Sci-fi, fiction

My rating: 3 thumbs upOrigin3thumbsup

“Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything. 

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?:

 Goodreads

The 4th book in the Lux Series disappointed me a little. I still loved it, still love the characters and the dynamics. But there was just a few things in this novel I didn’t like and annoyed me.

Through the majority of the other books, Katy and Daemon’s relationship was either Hate/Hate or Love/Hate and was in constant turmoil with different arguments and situations. This wasn’t the case in Origin; they were a real, devoted team. I love it. So it makes sense in this one to showcase Daemons perspective to gain the depth of their feelings towards each other (we have always been aware of Kat’s, and besides, I’m pretty sure everyone wanted to get into alien hottie’s brain).

I kinda had a problem with the multiple perspective stuff; sometimes it was very clear who was who, but other times Daemon and Katy sounded exactly the same and blurred together. Which affected how I read it and hence hindered my enjoyment.

There were also some events in the book that just didn’t work for me. Katy should be seriously mentally unstable from what has happened to her in Area 51, and she appears to be suffering up until Daemon shows. Suddenly this horrible experience is not so horrible anymore and she is no longer affected by what’s happening around her; even when they nearly kill her. I personally think the trauma should have continued to make it feel more real and hopeless, and make their escape even more worth it.

I also think the marriage thing was silly. Waste of pages. I didn’t gain anything from it; I was already aware of how deeply Daemons feeling were for Kat- he has done greater, more personal things to show it. Marrying her did nothing for me at all. Also, three sex scenes in less than a day was a little too much… The chapters in that area all fell flat for me. A real change from Jennifer’s fast paced, exciting writing style.

I was also a little iffed by Blake’s death. I didn’t like him, but I think a lot of his motives were left un-answered. Like why the hell did he cuddle up with Kat in Opal? Does he honestly have feelings for her? Was he just trying to gain her trust? Confused. I wish his end was a little clearer and brought forward some questions or truth about his behavior.

Now to what I liked; the overall progression of the story. The progression of Katy and Daemons relationship, Dee’s forgiveness, the death of less likeable characters (I have a feeling that Jen had a problem killing off her characters, because the ones that died were generally the ones we didn’t know or like). I like how we are gaining an understanding behind the motives of Daedalus and I love how it continues to throw in new dynamics for every story. I love the tension, the surprises. All of it.

And the ending. Woah. That ending. The possibilities for death, twists, tension are endless! Absolutely thrilled for Opposition to be released. Even though I was slightly frustrated with this novel, making it earn only three thumbs up, it has not made me dislike the series at all. TEAM ALIEN!❤

One thought on “Review: Origin

  1. Pingback: Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer Armentrout | Cynthia Stacey

Leave a Reply

