Book Series Review – The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

Author: Lauren Kate

Genre: Romance, Fiction, YA

Series Titles:

1. Fallen (December, 2009)

2. Torment (January, 2010)

3. Passion (January, 2011)

4. Rapture (January, 2012)

My Rating: 4 thumbs up!

Kate Lauren FALLEN series composite

4 thumbs up

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?
Fallen
There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori. Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at Sword & Cross boarding school in Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are screwups, and security cameras watch every move.
Except Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce—he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.”

Goodreads

The best thing about this is that if I were reviewing each book separately, the ratings would be low for most of them (around 3 thumbs up for each). However, after putting each individual book together, I realized what a terrific story it was! Meaning I get to write a good review! Yay!

I feel like banging my head against a wall. I should have read this sooner! The only reason I didn’t is because by the second book I had lost motivation and wasn’t into it. My opinion was that Daniel and Luce’s relationship was depthless and quick. I was also so confused about what was happening, frustrated with Luce’s lack of knowledge, wanting to kick Daniel in the head for not just telling her.

Then about 2 weeks ago I finally decided to pick up the third book. And geez, Passion could not have been a more perfect title. I finally, finally saw the depth of Luce’s and Daniels relationship. Their love was finally real. A week later, and I was balling like a baby. Rapture gave the most devastatingly beautiful ending. I did not see it coming. But then, I realized that it could not have ended differently, no matter how much it broke my heart.

So to why I gave the Fallen Series four and not five thumbs? Well, the first and second book were not exciting enough. If they had more oomph, then I would have read the series sooner. Looking back though, the way Fallen and Torment were written is actually really fitting. The vagueness that I was so frustrated at was actually perfect. If it wasn’t vague, then I would not have grasped Luce’s transformation and the meaning of the story would be lost.

Another thing I loved about the Fallen Series is the comic relief Lauren has utilized. The story is so intense and morbid at times, that it is great that she wrote in characters that have humor. Pennyweather Van Syckle Lockwood, AKA Penn (I just love her name), Arriane, Roland, Gargoyle version of Lucifer, Mike and Shelby, Dee – they all have their moments of light heartedness and slightly impossible, disbelieving actions and dialogue that break the intensity. She stayed true with this to the very end as well, having the angels and Mike and Shelby watch Luce and Daniel again as if they were watching a movie. Which was good, because the previous last two chapters had me wet eyed. But then that last line… Yeah. Let’s just say I had to relive the funny moments again to keep me sane.

So overall, the portrayal of Angels in the Fallen series makes it one of my favorites. And I usually don’t like these kind of loves stories; I prefer more realistic ones. But Lauren Kate has made me a believer in soul mates and true love. So I say “Amazing” to Lauren and “Farewell” to Daniel and Luce, and may they enjoy their mortal love for all eternity.

2 thoughts on “Book Series Review – The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

  1. Pingback: Passion a Fallen Novel : Lauren Kate 2012 | Percypaschal's Blog

  2. Pingback: Sunday Showcase: 20/10/13 | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

