Simply Sunday

ImageSimply Sunday is a meme run by Books for a Delicate Eternity, where we share our favourite quotes of the week; whether it be from a book, a poem, a song – wherever! 

My Simple thing this Sunday is a quote from a book I read this week “Crash Into You” by Katie McGarry. You can find my review here

“Maybe this is what happens when you fall in love. On the outside a lighter is nothing amazing, but it holds all the ingredients that can create something wonderful. With a few pushes in the right direction, you can inspire something so brilliant that it pushes back the darkness. ”

I love this quote. I really do. It’s a comment on love, and how it can make the plain, ordinary things beautiful. Not just that, though. It comments on how love can push away the “darkness” – all your inner demons and self doubt. What I love most about this quote is how it is explaining it through a lighter. The symbolism of addiction and drugs. I love how it demonstrates that anything and everything can be beautiful. 

5 thoughts on “Simply Sunday

  1. I really like this quote too. I think the symbolism with the lighter is really nice without being over-the-top. It was a really sweet moment in the book that was made even better with all of the elements going on underneath the surface.

    • That was one of the reasons I liked it!

      Though I didn’t want to mention the representation of it in the book because ’cause people who have’t read it before would be like O.o?

      But yes. It was definitely one of the good moments in Crash Into You. (:

  2. I really need to read Katie McGarry’s books already! I even own one, but still haven’t gotten around to it. This quote definitely makes me want to read her novels, that is for sure.
    I really like the comparison of love to a lighter. It’s not too over the top and dramatic. It’s simple, but also powerful.
    Thank you for joining in this week😀

Leave a Reply

