End of year Questionnaire!

PicMonkey Collage

To summarize my 2013 year of reading, I’m doing a linkup questionnaire hosted by the Notebook Sisters!

This is the year that I discovered the world of reviewing, ARC’s and book blogging. It was such a prize finding this outlet to connect with such a huge community of people who share the same interests. I can’t believe that I only just discovered it. Here’s hoping to a successful year of reading, reviewing, blogging and connecting!

1. What was your overall favourite book this year? (Yes. Pick one.)

No. I will not.

Okay, okay. If I had to pick, I would say Requiem, by Lauren Oliver. Though it wasn’t popular among a large group of people, I think it was the perfect ending to the Delirium series, and I could not speak more highly of Delirium. It is my all-time favourite book, ever. It will always have a special place in my heart.

2. Favourite debut(s)? (Author must have been first published in 2013.)

Um, I think (think) that everything I read in 2013 was by experienced authors. No first timer’s this year. I should change that, though. I love discovering new authors!

3. Which books did you reread this year?

Oh wow. Believe it or not, but I re-read the first 6 House of Night books! I was up to the 7th, and there was a gap between readings, and the books just moves so fast that I had forgotten everything!

4. Favourite cover(s) this year!

Teardrop by Lauren Kate.

(still cranky over the book -__-)

5. Worst cover(s)?

To be honest, I don’t pay much attention to covers. Its either “amazeballs” or average. There are no “bad” in my eyes. Remember guys, it the content that counts! I try to never rate a book by how pretty it’s over is.

6. What self-published books did you read this year?

Starstruck by Brenda Hiatt I think is the only one. FYI – I recommend this book to all young sci-fi lovers!

7. Which book(s) gave you a massive hangover?

I’m not sure what this question means by hangover.

Like, a book I just soaked up and was on a high during reading, and left me terribly book sick because I just couldn’t get over it?

Or that-book-was-so-bad-I’m-gonna-puke hangover?

Number 1 meaning: The Host. I just could not get over it, and I cried the last 60 pages. Stuff like that is hard to get over.

Number 2: Unlovable by Sherry Gammon. It didn’t even have proper grammar and the setting was all weird (could have just been my e-copy, that I BOUGHT. I do not pirate).

8. Best standalone you read?

Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols.

9. Biggest book(s) you’ve read this year?

The Host (I think it was around 500 pages?)

10. Book(s) you followed the hype for and then loved!

Most definitely the Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead! I was turned off by the name all those years ago when it was released (I had enough vamps from twilight).  But yeeeeaaah, I definitely caught on to this one. Totally not what I expected!

11. Most disappointing book(s) you read this year?

This might be an unpopular confession for some to swallow but…

Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the idea and the plot. But, after deciding to read it this year after all the hype, it just fell flat to my expectations . It wasn’t as good as I though it was going to be.

12. Favourite leading-female character?

Zoe Redbird from the House of Night series by P.C and Kristen Cast. I think she’s kick ass, strong, and a great role model figure for young girls. She makes mistakes, she’s relatable, but she has solid values and holds her ground. I thinks she’s my book bestie.

13. Favourite leading-male character?

Isaiah in Crash Into You by Katie McGarry. I just love how he grows. And he’s a hot, misunderstood boy with a poetic soul. With tats. I cannot stop drooling.

14. Best romance(s)?

Daemon and Katy’s in the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Not Insta. Developed. Though still magical, heart warming, and most importantly – true. I think it’s a good mix.

Lilac and Tarver in These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan SpooonerI didn’t connect to these characters, though their romance was great. Entwined with initial spark, than hate, than content and annoyance, to finally coming together. One of the best build-ups to love I have read this year.

15. What book(s) hit the DNF list? (Did not finish.)

Evernight by Claudia Gray. I just couldn’t do it. I don’t even know what turned me off of it.

16. What book(s) did you read out of your comfort-zone?

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. I was iffy about fairy tale re-telling’s, thinking that they would ruin them for me. But, Tiger Lily opened my eyes to a whole new perspective, and I loved it! Can’t wait to get my hands on more more more!

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I was scared to try a classic, thinking I would be bored. I was also scared to read about touchy subjects like racism. But, I actually really enjoyed this book. (:

17. Which author did you read the most from?

Probably Jennifer L. Armentrout. This is the first time I’ve gone stir crazy over one author – but she is just so consistent! The Lux series was demolished in a week.

18. Top 5 books you’d recommend from all the books you’ve read this year?

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Where She Went (if I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman (for those who have read If I Stay – great follow up!)

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1) by Julie Kagawa (Eternity Cure is great too!)

Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout. (and the entire Lux series!)

Crash Into You (Pushing The Limits #3) by Katie McGarry (is it sad the I haven’t read the other Pushing the Limits books?)

19. How many books did you read this year all up?

I didn’t count this year.😦

I will be in 2014 though!

20. What’s a book you’re hugely excited for coming out in 2014?!

The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa!(Blood of Eden #3). CAN’T WAIT!

Thank you for taking the time to read my answers! Is there anything you would add to my list? What was your reaction to my Divergent confession? I love hearing your comments! 

11 thoughts on “End of year Questionnaire!

  1. I pretty much felt the same way with Divergent. I actually LOVED about 80% of it, and then the last few chapters just imploded on themselves, and I ended up being really cranky and frustrated with everything that happened. I thought Tris was annoying as heck in those chapters, and said/thought the most ridiculous of things. I still read the sequel (which also annoyed me), but I have yet to read the last one. Especially since people who ACTUALLY adored the series hated the final book. But maybe that means I will like it? Haha.

  2. I put off VA because of Twilight as well, but a friend finally bought me the first book and forced me to read it, and now I’m in love! I just found the other five books for super cheap, and ordered the rest of the series😀

    Mmmm… Isaiah❤

    • Yeah! My boyfriend was obsessed with VA (yeah, I know how that sounds) and he pretty much forced me to read his copy. I then stole the rest of the series from him and they are now sitting on my shelf, waiting for me.

      Mmm, Isaiah indeed (;

  3. Lilac and Tarver were just. so. awesome. I loved every bit of that book! And I loved the Teardrop cover too…maybe not the book (okay, I was probably a bit tough on it, but I found it disappointing) but the cover was nice.🙂 I need to read The Host! I only hear good stuff about it!
    Thanks for joining in our linkup!!

    • I only just finished the book this morning! So I was in love with them both before I even got to the end – which had me in a serious emotional limbo.
      I was a bit tough on Teardrop, too. I just wanted it to be better!
      Read the Host! I know the whole Twilight, Stephanie Meyer, fan girl thing might turn you off it, but it is seriously good. Better than twilight x 100!
      Your welcome. (:

  4. I think I’m going to have to finish the Delirium series! I put it on the back burner and forgot about it until I read your post.

    It’s too bad that your expectations for Divergent ruined the book for you. I hate it when that happens:P

    • So many people disliked how it ended. My opinion may be a bit jaded. I just love it, unconditionally.

      I’m sure everyone has that book they just couldn’t get into. That everyone loves but you just can’t see it.

      Thanks for commenting! (:

  5. Ooh, I definitely love Tiger Lily too! It turned me into an avid Peter Pan fans, even if I don’t really care about that particular fairy tale before😀
    And I’m totally the same as you with VA! I previously think that the book sounds real cheesy. And vampires just make me do an eye-roll since Twilight, but VA turned out to be such a fun read!

    Neysa @ [B.O.O.K.L.I.F.E]

    • Tiger Lily put such a dark, morbid, realistic twist on the original story. I think that’s why I liked it so much. (:

      VA does sound cheesy, hey? Haha, but it was so worth it.

      Thanks for commenting, Neysa! (:

Leave a Reply

