Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Authors: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Published: 10th December, 2013

Genre: YA, Sci-fi/romance

My rating: 4 thumbs up! 

thesebrokenstars

4 thumbs up“It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. 

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help. 

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.”

My thoughts

I came into These Broken Stars with huge expectations. Great reviews, a killer synopsis, my favourite genre mix and an amazing cover hinted at something I would love. Thankfully, it hit my expectations and more. It had some elements I was not expecting, but loved, had an amazing build, plot and executed the multiple narrative with excellence. The only issues I had were pace and a little connection problem with the characters.

To be honest, my favourite aspect of These Broken Stars is the buildup. It takes a long, loonnggg time for Tarver and Lilac to act upon their feelings. Which is good! It’s great to see something non-insta, real, and built up until I cannot stand it anymore.

Character development was also performed to a level I was not expecting. Lilacs odd mixture of strength, determination, vulnerability, stubbornness and her battle of selfish/selflessness is dug up, explored and annihilated throughout the course of the book. Tarver doesn’t go through a massive change – more so overcomes some personal issues that were keeping him from Lilac, though he is still thoroughly explored and detailed.

Despite this development and character dynamic, I had a hard time connecting to Lilac and Tarver. It might just be a personal thing only I’ve had a problem with, so don’t let this comment be your deciding vote of read or no-to-read. For some odd reason I cannot justify, I didn’t love and connect to them.

A negative I have with These Broken Stars is that the first half was slow. Once the ship coined the “galactic titanic” crashes, the plot stalls and is hard to get back in to. Plus, some weird things happen that made me feel like I was reading a bad horror/supernatural story, but that soon explains itself.

Actually, I loved how everything is released slowly. No person jumps in with all the answers (how often have we seen that? Countless). We are kept mostly in the dark until the very end. After that slow beginning, the last 10 chapters really had me on an emotional roller coaster. The story picked up, as with the plot which you could not see in the first half. And in come the surprising elements that I loved (which I can’t mention, spoiler much!).

So, the beginning of the novel could have picked up a bit, and I wasn’t in love with the characters – but I still loved These Broken Stars, which must mean the other parts were pretty phenomenal. I recommend this book to any sci-fi lover, to any romance lover, and to every other person who reads young adult novels. These Broken Stars is a must!

5 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

  1. I totally adored this book! I was just….gaaah, the feels! ^_^ I particularly liked Tarver and Lilac’s relationship. The only thing that knocked me was that massive twist at the end with Lilac. I thought it was cool and all, but I was a bit…woah. What’s going on? Still. Utterly loved this one. 🙂

    • Yeah! Haha, that was the emotional roller coaster bit. I didn’t know how to think about it at first, but I still liked how it ended. (:

Leave a Reply

