January wrap up!

This is my monthly wrap up, where I sum up what I read, what I reviewed, what I bought, borrowed, received, and awesome bookish posts I found during the month.

January was eventful! I had way to much Christmas money left to spend on books, so there’s a large book haul. Plus, it was Australia day, three family member’s birthdays, first round offer’s for uni and confirmation of my GAPbreak this coming August. Also, this week was when school went back in. So January was also the  month I realised I will never go back to highschool ever again.

Never.

Welcome to the real world, breezer.

Anyway, back to books! I found two $5 book shops this month, where I bought –


20140129_124802

Poison Princess by Kresley Cole ~ Burn Mark by Laura Powell ~ Burn Bright by Marianne de Pierres (I love this cover!) ~ Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon ~ Radiant ShadowsDarkest Mercy by Melissa Marr

I also found a book exchange in my town! So second hand books I bought were

20140129_124341

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzapatrick ~ Dragon Keeper by Carole Wilkinson ~ Fractured by Teri Terry ~ Spellbound by Cara lynn Schultz

This month I also took part in a book swap hosted by Chaotic Goddess Swaps (there will be a separate post for this).

Me and my Aussie partner, Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity, swapped three books. In this exchange I got these amazing books!

20140129_124453

Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder and Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

    and *drum rollThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak!

20140129_124407

January ARC’s 

374c6-clan_byrealmlovejoy_book_cover

This month, I read Clan by Realm Lovejoy as part of a tour for CBB Promotions. Review is here.

19148722

I also read The Wolf’s Cry by Natalie Crown as part of a tour by CBB Promotions. Review to be posted in March.

18896484

I read Forager by Peter R. Stone as part of a tour by Reach for the Stars. Review to be posted in March.

Netaglley – This month I was accepted for Captivate by Vanessa Garden, Me Since You by Laura Wiess & Sun And Moon by Elizabeth Paradise. Since my e-reader decided to croak, I’ve only been able to read Captivate. See review.

To sum it up, I read a total of 11 books in January

Defy by Sara B. Larson
Pushing the limits by Katie McGarry
Dare You To by Katie McGarry
Clan by Realm Lovejoy (what an awesome name?!?!)
Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
Forager by Peter R. Stone
Angel Fire by L.A. Weatherly
Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr
Captivate by Vanessa Garden
Poison Princess by Kresley Cole
The Wolf’s Cry by Natalie Crown

Awesome posts from other book blogs!

Discussion: Reading before bed by Miranda @Tempest Books 

ARC: Yay or Nay? by Stephanie @ Rantings, Ravings and Ramblings 

Review: Poison  by Bridget Zinn – Ashley @ Nose Graze

Authors behaving badly by Book Nerd Canada

Review: Tin Star by  Cecil Castellucci  –  My Friends are Fiction

Sister review  – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: Mime & Cait @ the Notebook Sisters

Australia Day: a guide for non-Aussies by Diva Book Nerd

To DFN or not to DFN – Bookish

Aussie Author Awesomeness by Book Nerd Reviews

Beauty and the Beast Retellings by Icey Books

Books for thought: The Kryptonite to my Superman by Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity

10 thoughts on “January wrap up!

  1. You are lucky to find so many cheap books in your area! That’s not a thing that happens to me, especially when I’m looking for English books. But maybe it’s for the best as well, because it would make me buy so many books and at the moments I just don’t have anywhere to put them (my shelves are just way too full).

    Thanks for linking to my post!

    • the $5 shops weren’t in my town, I was on holiday. 😛 So far, other than major brands, the exchange shop is the only one I have found.

      When I have a full; shelf, it mean I have to get rid of some!
      Thanks for commenting, Stephanie. (:

  2. Ooh! You got ‘Burn Mark’? I’ve been umming and ahhing over reading that one for a while now. I love second hand book shops (I can’t walk passed a charity shop without going in to have a look for a book) you can get some real bargains!

    And you’ve read 11 books this month?! Eeks! That’s a lot of reading!

    Cool post! 😀

    • Same! I found it cheap so I just decided to go for it. WiIl be reading and reviewing that one soon, since I need paperbacks to filled the void my eReader left. 😦

      I’m on holiday, lots and lots of reading time!
      Thanks for commenting, Sarah!
      T

  3. Pingback: Monthly Round-Up – January | Brin's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

