DNF – Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

I hate not finishing books – mostly because that means I have to admit that a book was that bad. Ugh, I hate writing disappointing things about books. I don’t write reviews about books that I don’t finish, nor do I rate them. But, I do like to give a reason why I didn’t finish it.

10335701

Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Published: October 2011, HarperTEEN

I read: Page 159 out of 340 pages

Everything about Carrier of the Mark sounded so good! I think that may have been a big reason why I didn’t finish – because I was so disappointed. Everything was cliché and it’s like they brought everything I don’t like into the first half of a book.

This includes insta-love. The love interests had about two, 3 second conversations before they were telling each other how much they cared for them. Oookaaayyyyyyy.

Second – the whole new girl comes to town is just so overdone!

Third – in the half of the book I read, there was no character development. I still had no idea who the characters were.

Fourth – Dialogue and descriptions were beyond cheesy! I was looking for something a little dark and interesting, given it’s set in Ireland.

The Fifth and final straw – It had one of those characters that just randomly enters the story and has an answer for every mystery and question plus more found in the book. Info overload.

This is about where I ended. Immensely disappointing is all I can say. No rating, other than a thumbs down to indicate DNF.

imagesCA5VAWPU

8 thoughts on “DNF – Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

  1. I hate not finishing books too! But seriously, when they’re as cliche as that??! I don’t blame you in the least! The insta-love is just…ew. I’m soooo tired of it.

    • Ew, yes! This was, like, the worst of the worst insta-love. I really tried to keep pushing onwards, but it just downward spiralled.

Leave a Reply

