Review: Me Since You by Laura Wiess

Me Since You by Laura Wiess

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Published: To be published on the 18th February by MTV Books

My Rating: 4 thumbs up!

12989100

Laura Wiess captures the visceral emotion of a girl’s journey from innocence to devastating loss and, ultimately, to a strange and unexpected kind of understanding—in this beautiful and painfully honest new novel.

Are there any answers when someone you love makes a tragic choice?

Before and After. That’s how Rowan Areno sees her life now. Before: she was a normal sixteen-year-old—a little too sheltered by her police officer father and her mother. After: everything she once believed has been destroyed in the wake of a shattering tragedy, and every day is there to be survived.

If she had known, on that Friday in March when she cut school, that a random stranger’s shocking crime would have traumatic consequences, she never would have left campus. If the crime video never went viral, maybe she could have saved her mother, grandmother — and herself — from the endless replay of heartache and grief.

Finding a soul mate in Eli, a witness to the crime who is haunted by losses of his own, Rowan begins to see there is no simple, straightforward path to healing wounded hearts. Can she learn to trust, hope, and believe in happiness again? – From Goodreads.

My Thoughts 

I received Me Since you form the Publishers via Netagalley in exchange for an honest review. 

I don’t know where to start. Me Since You was absolutely beautiful. It was heart breaking. It was tragic. It was unfair. It was heart warming. It made me FEEL like no book has done in a long time.

Wiess has created a story to follow the journey of grief, from beginning to end. From the middle of the book onwards, the tears where on and off. It was just so emotionally draining that I had to eat some chocolate and lay in bed for a while to recover.

The main character, Rowan, is just so relatable. She is the typical, though dynamic vision of a teenage girl, with a rebellious attitude, very influenced by her friends, boys, and parent problems. I love how she grows and develops as grief changes her. In fact, I love how all the characters are developed and how we see the different ways grief effects them.

I love the perception and exploration of grief in Me Since You. I find grief is a really hard thing to write/read about, so I wasn’t sure about going into this one because it focusses around grief. I believe the Wiess has done a very realistic depiction of grief that explores all the facets that come about. Not just the internal pain but all the other factors of life it effects. I really applaud the author for this. It was so insightful, detailed and realistic. The journey to moving on and healing was also very relatable and honest. I really just can’t get over how well it was done.

I also liked the theme of the “ripple effect”. I liked how the story explores how one person’s actions can affect the lives of many. How a course of events can change the future of people forever. And I love how this is bitter sweet – how it explores that both good and bad can come from any situation.

Another thing I loved about Me Since You was the romance. It was in no-way the main focus of the story. In fact, it was very minor, and I love that. I like how the two characters didn’t heal themselves through love. I liked that they kept their distance until they were both emotionally available and ready for each other. Yet, it kept the story pushing, and the distance gave us a light at the end of the tunnel. Something to look forward to in their future. This kept it more realistic than ever.

If I had to be really picky, then I would say the pace felt off at times. Though I think that may be because of the jumps and lapse in time, plus the fluctuating size of the chapters. I think one was about three words long? I did think this was really clever though. And I liked the addition of quotes and poetry throughout the book. Sometimes, they fit the story so perfectly, that I got all teary over them.

Me Since You is an amazingly written, realistic, heart wrenching story that explores grief beautifully. It will make you cry. It will make you smile. It will absolutely immerse you in the lives of the characters. It will make you feel as though you are experiencing everything they are going through. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a book with depth and really wants to feel something. For me, it’s up there with Gale Forman’s If I Stay. 

4 thumbs up

3 thoughts on “Review: Me Since You by Laura Wiess

  1. Oh no. If it’s up there with If I Stay, then that means I’ll need more tissues for when I read If I Stay. I’m so glad you enjoyed Me Since You though! You know how much I loved it😀

  2. I liked If I Stay and absolutely loved Where She Went so this books is up my alley! The ripple effect theme is also really interesting and can be true in real life too. Lovely review🙂

Leave a Reply

