Cleaning out my TBR!

Today, I took a good look at my Want to Read list on Goodreads and gave it a big, early, spring clean. I went through the columns, picked out the book with a rating of 3.5 and lower, then re-evaluated why I wanted to read it.

You know why? Because I have read so many bad books lately, that I have picked up simply because I remember adding them on Goodreads.

I didn’t even finish one of them.

harrypotter

Now I understand that the rating isn’t the most reliable thing on GR. I went back and checked the rating on the book that I didn’t finish, and it was close to a four.

I really don’t think that it deserves a four. Lucky I don’t believe I have the right to rate something I haven’t finished.

tumblr_lt12wb3VSj1qe0n3h

So, to be fair I didn’t just delete every book with a low rating. I went back, read the synopsis again and skimmed the reviews of people that didn’t like it – to see if any of the things I find annoying in books they detected, too.

In total I deleted about 12 books. Some were the continuation of series I didn’t like and some were deleted because they just really didn’t seem like something I would enjoy.

grinch-portable

Trust the Grinch to say what I’m afraid to.

I’m really glad I did this. Even though 12 books isn’t many compared to the three hundred and something on my list, I feel a little lighter and more confident in my list. Like it’s a real possibility that I could enjoy every single story that I left on it.
Even though that’s probably not true, confidence and peace of mind is a good feeling. 

Katy Perry gif

10 thoughts on “Cleaning out my TBR!

  1. I think I have 500 books on my want-to-read list on Goodreads. >_< I should probably clean them out, too! There are WAY too many books to read an DEFINITELY not enough time.

  2. I tried that but I got bored too easily, there’s just so many, will try and do a few books at a time.

Leave a Reply

