Review: Poison Princess By Kresley Cole

Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles #1) by Kresley Cole

Genre: YA, fasntasy/dystopia 

Published: October 2012, by Simon & Schuster

My Rating: 4.5 thumbs up!

13450339

She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen-year-old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side.

Goodreads 

My Thoughts

I can definitely say I was not expecting what I found in Kresley Cole’s Poison Princess. That could be because I didn’t read the premise very well, just sorta skimmed it. If I did, I might be more prepared and not as intrigued as I was. Gotta love impulse buys.

I’m really not sure how to sum this up without giving away too much. The story focuses on Evie, as she sets out to found out about her strange hallucinations and powers she has. Protected by bad boy, Jack, the story is set in post-apocalypse after a big flash burned the world and dried up all the water. So, ensured of human’s who have no humanity left and an original version of zombies, you’re set for a pretty interesting story with so many different elements that I can’t mention ’cause it will ruin everything.

Some major positives in this book were Cole’s writing style and characterization (plus imagination). Some negatives included a little pace problem in the middle, terminology and being kept in the dark for the majority of the book.

Straight into positives, shall we? I’m really liking Cole’s writing style. She is somewhat morbid, and she doesn’t shy away from the brutal, ugly realistic side of the world. This is included in her characterization. I was never really sure if I liked a character in this book, because we really do see the ugly side- almost more than the good side. The perfect example of this is Jack. The love interest wasn’t just some dashing, brooding bad boy with a goey center and a foreign accent. Cole really went out of her way to show that a lot of his intentions and motives are not pure and good in the slightest – to the point of dislike and hate. Does he go a bit mushy towards the end? Slightly. I’m still not sure if I like him, but I do appreciate Cole’s different outlook of dark and handsome. I used to think Daemon from the Lux series was an ass, or Gale from Hunger Games, or Grayson from Such a Rush. But Jackson really out does them all.

Despite seeing all the brutal and ugly, I really like the characters (in a way). I like the addition of new characters, and I did actual fall in love with one of them. Mathew is just a sweet boy in this mess. Though I’m afraid to admit this, cause in Cole’s quest for misery and the path the plot is taking, I can see deceit and death in the future of the story, and I can definitely see the cute kid caught in the cross fire, or be the one feeding it. I’m dreading it. If my little cute and innocent is deceitful, I just might cry. Hard and snotty.

To throw in some drawbacks – I was a little confused about the terminology. The story includes Tarot deck cards (that’s a MAJOR hint) and I was so confused what that was all about. It made me feel a little disjointed while reading. Another negative was the pace hit a road bump halfway. I think the dialogue between Evie and Jack brought it down, cause I just didn’t like hearing them constantly fight. Even though Evie wasn’t the useless, whiny type, I began to believe she was just ‘cause Jack constantly said so. Towards the end, I really wanted Evie’s usefulness to shine and be like, “HA! Told you so!” But I got no such satisfaction. Leaving me feeling a little “meh” about that topic that seemed so important throughout the story.

I did like that the story was broken into three parts: Before, After and Now. I also liked how it switched between the tenses throughout the story. It added to the air of mystery. Though I said I didn’t like the fact that we were kept in the dark for the majority of the book, it made the end immensely satisfying. Making me sorta like it, sorta hate it. Let’s chill on the fence for this one.

I’m going to end it by saying I really am enjoying these “fantasy dystopia’s”. I think they have a flare compared to just dystopian. I was pleasantly surprised by what Poison Princess was actually focusing on; it feels fresh but a little dark. Let’s say it was a bit of everything, and took me on a real adventure. I also have a new favourite author –  Kresley Cole has proved that she is a little different and can describe like a queen. Because I’ve been “so so” about Poison Princess throughout this review, it only makes sense that it has that it has an impossible rating of 4.5, which I’ll round to a four, for now.

4 thumbs up

3 thoughts on “Review: Poison Princess By Kresley Cole

  1. I knew nothing about Tarot cards when I started reading this book, and I almost had the sense that Kresley Cole took it for granted that readers would be well-informed. I still really enjoyed this book (and the sequel, too) but I’ll bet it would have been more enjoyable if I had a better understanding of Tarot cards.

    Stephanie @ Inspiring Insomnia

    • That’s exactly how I felt! But I guess Cole would be in a situation there, where she wouldn’t want to fill the pages of her book with explanations on the concept of Tarot cards.
      I can’t wait to read Endless Knight! Good to hear you liked it!

  2. Pingback: A Summer of Favourites! | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

