Review: Enmity by E. J. Andrews

Enmity E. J. Andrews

Genre: YA, Dystopia

Published: To be published April 2014, by Harlequin Australia 

My Rating: 2 thumbs up

I received Enmity to review from the publishes via Netgalley.

20558350

“Love vs Life.
Good vs Evil.
War vs Warfare.

Which would you choose?

After a solar flare wipes out most of the world’s inhabitants, it leaves behind nothing but a desolate earth and a desperate population. Existence is no longer a certainty. And with factions now fighting for the power to rule, people start to become reckless with their lives. The world has become a dangerous place.

Amongst the ensuing chaos, Nate and Hermia — two victims of the new world order — are taken against their will to The Compound. Joined by eight other teenagers all chosen for a specific reason, Nate and Hermia are forced to train as assassins to overthrow the current president and make way for a new leader of the free world. Here, they learn to plan, fight, and most importantly… to survive.

Except, despite the casual cruelty of their new existence, both Nate and Hermia — two very strong but very different people — begin to form fragile bonds within the group. But they soon realize their happiness is short lived…because their training is just the beginning.

A war awaits…regardless of how ready or willing they may be”

Synopsis from Goodreads

My Thoughts 

I would first like to say that the writing style of E. J Andrews is terrific. When I opened up that first page, read the first paragraph, I actually sighed. I got excited, too. You know when you can just tell your going to like a book, simply from the first page? Just because the author can write well? That’s the feeling I got. If I have any problems with Enmity, Andrews’ writing is not one of them.

Please keep that in mind for the rest of the review, because even though I thought the rest of the book could use some work, I was enthralled by the writing.

Enmity is a dystopia, right? It takes place 60 years after a solar flare wiped out the majority of the human population. This is one of the major problems I had about Enmity – because after the first two or three chapters, it feels like the solar flare never happened. It hardly feels dystopian at all.

The first chapter is when the solar flare takes place in a world that feels like ours today. Fast forward 60 years, and there’s telltale signs that demonstrates the world is ruined: Children and girls doing unimaginable jobs, huge walls to keep the sun out, young people with guns, people fighting for power, ect. After this, however, the only trait we are constantly reminded of is the political unrest. Next thing you know, we are bombarded with things from our world – there are whole intact families living in homes with electricity, running water and abundance of food. They use money, have access to ATM’s (yup, only 60 years after the world ends and there are still plastic cards that hold money in it), Live in houses, go to school, have jobs and normal lives just like ours. Isn’t the whole point of dystopias is to see how much the lives of people have changed compared to how we currently live?

Oh, but the inconsistencies don’t stop there. Not even a century after the population is nearly wiped out and they have developed better technology than we do today.

How is that even possible!?!?

How, after so much knowledge in the form of people, animals, papers, computers and history would have been destroyed in the solar flare, does that happen? How the hell did you get all the knowledge, people, resources and equipment in the span of 60 years post apocalypse? That is hardly enough time to re-populate, let alone get cool gadgets.

The only major thing that reminds us that this is after the end of the world, is that there is a war for leadership. But even that is happening today, in our lifetime.

I was disappointed by this. But even so, I still applaud the style in which it was written. It’s dark and serious, it keeps an air of mystery – some I was able to predict, some I wasn’t.

The two person narrative made the story feel a bit disjointed, though it did finally come together towards the end. I didn’t feel any strong climax in the plot. The romance for both characters felt entirely fake, and I found the badass female lead confusing. There wasn’t enough harsh background for such a harsh character – it just didn’t justify who she is today.

I really wanted to like this – during some parts of the story, I could almost convince myself I did like it, just because of how it was written. But then would come along something stupid like ATM’s or ridiculous romance, and I would go back to doubting and picking out all the plot holes. Sadly, I cannot recommend Enmity.

2thumbsup

6 thoughts on “Review: Enmity by E. J. Andrews

  1. Ohhh… >_< Now I'm worried! I have this one and I was putting it off just because the release date isn't here right now (but, er, I'd better get onto it, I guess). I love dystopians, but I'm a bit disappointed with the sound of the world-building.

    • I might be a bit harsh on this one, so give it a go! I think I have high standards for dystopians, which really led my judgement.
      Looking forward to what you think about it!

  2. It sounds to me Iike the author decided the best way to get a best seller was to mash up the most popular teen dystopian novels (Divergent, The Hunger Games, etc) and then pushed it into the book shops. Ugh originality please!

    • Yeah, when you put it that way, it does seem like everything has been mushed together until it just turn out flat.
      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

