Review: Of Stardust by February Grace

Of Stardust by February Grace

Genre: Fantasy

Published: October 28th, 2013 by Booktrope

My Rating: 4 thumbs up! 

I received a free e-copy of Of Stardust to review as part of this book tour, hosted by YA Bound

18743092

“Dreams are sacred…”

At the age of twenty-six single, geeky bookseller Till Nesbitt inherits the shock of a lifetime: a huge Victorian farmhouse filled with unique tenants, and the knowledge that there is a reason she’s always been different. She’s destined to become a Fairy Godmother, because the skills are written into her DNA.

Till embarks on her fairy education at Dreams Come True University with much trepidation, guided on her journey by a unique mentor: a Celtic hybrid with a secret by the name of Gus.

When Till falls head over heels for Gus, will she break the most serious law in the Fairy Code, or will the truth of what really happened to Gus’s parents keep them from repeating history?

 Goodreads

My Thoughts

Of Stardust is a beautiful, magical story that will stay with you a long time. It follows the story of Tess, who’s destiny is not one she asked for. Fairy Godmothers is not something I’ve ever read of before, which made this story interesting and original for me.

I should start by saying that this story wasn’t perfect; it had some minor plot holes and unexplained inconstancies. I don’t feel like that lead characters were well developed nor did I fall in love with any of the characters. I did, however, fall in love with the story itself.

Despite those few negatives, the magic and meaning of this story overwhelmed me and kept me reading. I didn’t even have time to ponder who the main characters really are, because I was just to caught up in their situation. I was enthralled to the very end.

The word “star-crossed” comes up in the synopsis, but don’t let that deter you – I loved the romance in Of Stardust. It might be a little cliché, but it is done really well! I entirely believed the romance and was torn up about the situation Tess and Gus were in. I cried in frustration, sat in anguish, I got mad, then cried again because it was beautiful.

I say beautiful, because it has real meaning. I didn’t even understand the real meaning until the very end – leaving me the long path of emotional wreckage whist reading.  I won’t try and explain it, cause not only would that be ruining the story for you, but words just can’t describe the utter selflessness of the situation. I had to be shown it to understand.

Another thing I’d like to say is that I wish the whole “making magic happen” was explained more in Of Stardust. They talk about being able to tap into it, but we never really see that happen with Tess, she’s just able to do it one day. A little more description would have worked.

Overall, Of Stardust is a little quirky, original, magical, beautiful, creative and meaningful. It made me cry and smile. Even though it didn’t have a perfect ending, I was left satisfied and happy – which I really applaud February Grace for. She gave life to the fairy godmother of Cinderella; let us see who they are, what they are and what they have sacrificed to

help the people of the world. Thank you so much to February Grace, Booktrope and YA Bound for giving me the chance to read Of Stardust! You can guarantee that I will recommend this book to everyone. (:

 

4 thumbs up

5 thoughts on “Review: Of Stardust by February Grace

  1. Brea, Booktrope thanks you for your support on this tour! You’ll be happy to know that Till & Gus will be back in a sequel and you’ll get to know the whole gang a lot better–more magic too! Thanks again 🙂

    Wendy Logsdon
    Book Marketing Manager, Booktrope

    • Oh wow! I can’t imagine this book in a series, but that’s awesome! Can’t wait to see how it turns out. (:
      You’re very welcome. I loved Of Stardust! (:

  2. Thank you so much for taking the time to read, review, and host a stop on OF STARDUST’s blog tour! I am so happy that you enjoyed the book, and I really appreciate you taking part. Thank you again! ~bru

  3. Pingback: GIVEAWAY! February Grace’s OF STARDUST & IN STARLIGHT | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

