Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall (Penryn of the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

Genre: YA, Dystopia, Fantasy

Published: May 2011, by Feral Dream 

My Rating: 4 thumbs up! 

I bought my own personal e-copy of Angelfall

11500217

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Synopsis from Goodreads

My Thoughts

I’ve been told so many times to read Angelfall – So. Many. Times. Why did I not listen earlier? It was brilliant! I love the setting. I love the characters. I love the plot. The pace. The tension. The mystery. The writing. I just loved it all.

The dystopia setting for Angelfall is so original! It mixes up so many genres! When I started reading, I was really wondering how angels fitted into all of it. Then when it finally became clear, I had an OMG moment. So clever!

Another great aspect of Angelfall was the amount of interesting characters. From the blunt Penryn to mysterious, cocky Raffe to whacky, insane mum to red head spy twins that for some reason remind me of the Weasely twins. Not only were they interesting, but the important characters were developed to a standard that suited the book. We were never told anything – simply shown in the odd light Susan gives her story.

I loved the way Susan told her story. It’s slightly humorous and witty, but still has a serious, helpless undertone throughout. It was also really easy to read – I find that some books are difficult to read; they give you a headache, it’s boring, disjointed, clumsy, overly descripted/not descriptive enough, to fast, to slow – you get the point. There wasn’t a single second where I felt these emotions in Angelfall. Susan Ee has the simple, easy to read, balanced writing that is so close to perfection – I can’t recall the last time a story has captured and held me, simple because I could dip straight into the writing as if it were a warm, bubbled spa in winter.

Even though it was easy to read, I did have a moment of confusion in the first chapter or two. I had a little trouble adjusting to the world in this book. I think it may be because it was so original and different. But I soon adjusted and was fine.

Everyone was right about Raffe. He is so completely swoon worthy. He was mysterious, witty, withdrawn though still let his emotions control him. I just really liked him. And Penryn – she was the most developed and understandable character in the whole story. I love how they both have goals that pushes the story and helps us understand them.

Which leads to my one major problem in Angelfall – Raffe was not developed enough for me. I feel like we were only just beginning to get an idea of who is towards the end. His actions are still confusing and he has way too much mystery surrounding him. I think I have a pretty good idea of why he acts like he does, but it needs more evidence before the clouds disappear.

I guess that means one thing – I have to read Worldafter. I have to read it soon. I have to understand Raffe or I might go crazy. He has to give me something that makes me love him more, because I really want to. I recommend Angelfall 100%!

4 thumbs up

2 thoughts on “Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. I may be bursting a bubble here, but World After focuses mostly on Pen and her sister! BUT the series is supposed to be like 6 books long, so I’m sure we’ll get tons of Raffe in the future!

Leave a Reply

