Simply Sunday!

Simply Sunday

Simply Sunday is a meme held by Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity where we can share our favourite quotes for the week!

This week, I’ve chosen one from Game of Thrones.

Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength, for then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.

Game of Thrones A Song of Ice and Fire #1, by George R.R. Martin.

Wise words from Tyrion Lannister, aka, the Imp/ Dwarf/ half-man. Pg 54

As soon as I read this, I was like “Ah, this is why Tyrion is one of my favourite character’s”

In terms of the book, It always boggled my mind how Tyrion could be so confident. I mean, he is a Lanister, but still – he is just about hated and/or teased by everybody. Including his family. I think this quote describes him so well though. He is so confident with himself because he realizes what he is, and accepts himself for it. In doing so, he uses this knowledge as armor to prevent himself from being hurt and so he never pretends to be something he’s not.

I think people could learn a lot from the little Lannister. I personally think he’s the most well developed and intriguing character of the whole series. But he’s also super smart and really wise for his years.

In simple terms, this quote is telling you that you have to accept yourself. If you’re smart and want to do well in life, well by all means, except your nerdness because that’s just who you are. Are you a girl, but crave adrenalin and physical exertion? Stop caring what you most girls do, do what you want to do. Afraid of being judged for family circumstance? Is following a religion ‘wrong” or ‘weird’ where you are? Do you come from a highly successful family, or come from poverty? Time to stop fearing or rejecting what you are and except it, for it is the only way to deal with it.

On another note … LESS THAN A DAY! WOAH. Omg.

8 thoughts on “Simply Sunday!

    • Ooh that’s exciting! Probably a good idea to watch it before you read it Even though you won’t be surprised, you’ll understand everything so much better!

      I haven’t seen it yet! I’m waiting to watch it with my boyfriend, cause he would be angry if I didn’t wait for him.

  1. I love this quote so much. I haven’t read Game of Thrones or even watched the shows myself but I love how deep and true this is! Great quote! 🙂
    Lily @ Lilysbookblog

  2. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week! (#2) | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

