Musical Books! Crash Into You Playlist

musical books

This is a new meme I’m starting which has been inspired by a few other bloggers; Such as Hazel at Stay Bookish who does some awesome playlists’ through her meme Story Soundtrack. 

Basically, I create a playlist filled with songs that I feel relate to the book in some way.

This week, I’m starting with Crash Into You by Katie McGarry! I loved this book, so I found making a playlist up super easy. Plus, Katie has her own playlist for this book, which I’ve taken and incorporated into my list.

Let’s start it of with All of Me by John Legend 

“Give your all to me
I’ll give my all to you
You’re my end and my beginning
Even when I lose I’m winning
‘Cause I give you all of me
And you give me all of you, oh”

I chose this song because I was listening to this song frequently through reading Crash Into You, so now I immediately link the two. I also believe the lyircs work so well with the book. Especially in Isiah’s case, who’s experience with shifty, spontaneous, wild Beth left him burnt and needing a loyal person who he can devote himself to, and will do the same back.

Next song – Just a Kiss by Lady Antebellum 

“Just a kiss on your lips in the moonlight
Just a touch of the fire burning so bright
No I don’t want to mess this thing up
I don’t want to push too far
Just a shot in the dark that you just might
Be the one I’ve been waiting for my whole life
So baby I’m alright, with just a kiss goodnight”

This is a song Katie McGarry included in her playlist, and I must agree, it works perfectly for the first kiss scene. 😀

Both of Us by B.o.B Feat. Taylor Swift

“I wish I was strong enough to lift not one but both of us
Someday I will be strong enough to lift not one but both of us”

I think this comments on both Rachel and Isaiah – they both want to be strong enough to look after themselves and the other. They make crazy promises to each other for a better life for themselves. Love it. They sho coote. :3

Breakaway by Kelly Clarkson 

Dreaming of what could be
And if I’d end up happy
I would pray (I would pray)

Trying hard to reach out
But when I tried to speak out
Felt like no one could hear me
Wanted to belong here
But something felt so wrong here
So I prayed I could break away”

I think this song represents Rachel’s situation. She’s stuck in a life pretending to be something she’s not to make the people she loves happy. By the end, she does what’s best for herself and breaks free. Go Rachel!

Demons by Imagine Dragon

“They say it’s what you make
I say it’s up to fate
It’s woven in my soul
I need to let you go

Your eyes, they shine so bright
I wanna save that light
I can’t escape this now
Unless you show me how

When you feel my heat
Look into my eyes
It’s where my demons hide
It’s where my demons hide
Don’t get too close
It’s dark inside
It’s where my demons hide
It’s where my demons hide”

 

I chose this song for Isaiah. Throughout the book, he constantly feels not good enough for Rachel. He feels like he’s a negative person, that he turns everything he loves bad, that he ruins everything good.

Ours by Taylor Swift 

“Seems like there’s always someone who disapproves
They’ll judge it like they know about me and you
And the verdict comes from those with nothing else to do
The jury’s out, but my choice is you.

So don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks and things that shine
And life makes love look hard
The stakes are high, the water’s rough, but this love is ours”

Another one from Katie! She says this represents Rachel and Isaiah’s future. I can totally see what she means. :’)

So there’s my first playlist! What do you think? Do these songs relate? Would you choose something else? 

 

4 thoughts on “Musical Books! Crash Into You Playlist

  1. Love this book so much. 😀 Both of Us and Demons are two of my favourite songs, as well – great picks!

  2. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week! (#2) | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

