Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr

Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr

Genre: YA, paranormal (faeries) 

Published: January 2011, by Harper

I bought my own personal copy of Darkest Mercy to read

darkest mercy

The Summer King is missing; the Dark Court is bleeding; and a stranger walks the streets of Huntsdale, his presence signifying the deaths of powerful fey.

Aislinn tends to the Summer Court, searching for her absent king and yearning for Seth. Torn between his new queen and his old love, Keenan works from afar to strengthen his court against the coming war. Donia longs for fiery passion even as she coolly readies the Winter Court for battle. And Seth, sworn brother of the Dark King and heir to the High Queen, is about to make a mistake that could cost his life.

Love, despair, and betrayal ignite the Faery Courts, and in the final conflict, some will win…and some will lose everything.

From Goodreads 

 

 

Warning: may contain spoilers from previous books.

inabreeze

I’m left feeling satisfied, though a little mediocre about the final instalment of the Wicked Lovely series. Darkest Mercy was everything I wanted it to be, but also not (if that makes sense). I feel like there was too much talk, not enough doing. Though I did love the ending

thewindstorm

A big problem I had with some of the other books is that there is a lot of talking, a lot of thinking, heaps of scheming and pondering, but not a lot of doing. This book was half and half. First, there was a fair bit of nothing much but figuring out where each character stands in all this mess.

Then, there was heaps of action and actual decision making. Finally!

The 5th and final book in the wicked lovely series, Darkest Mercy, focuses back onto Aislynne, Keenan, Seth, Donia – putting an end to this epic love mess. Plus Niall, Iriall and Bananach – putting an end to this court war mess. There is also a small show of Socha, Devlin, and Leslie – though I would have liked more of them.

So basically, this story is a complex combination of romance issues, court relationships, consequences and war. So of course, how could we not go half the book without serious discussion as to where everybody stands?

So anyway, despite the beginning, when things began rolling, it really tumbled.

We finally, FINALLY get a conclusion to the summer / winter love fiasco that had me captured from the beginning. Melissa really had to drag it out, hey?

But having a conclusion to this really brought me back to the first book, and I couldn’t help but compare the two. I was captured by summer and winter, this curse, the search for the summer queen and supposed love of Keenan’s life. I also couldn’t help but notice a difference in the writing from then to now. Marr has changed her style since then, and I can’t help but prefer the old style to now.

She used to go into descriptive depth about her character’s, surroundings and life – but now it still has depth, but it focusses on more-so on fairy court politics, and lets the court shape the person. I guess that can’t be helped, it’s the nature of faeries. I just can’t help but feel let down.

Anyway, I’m glad we got another happy ending (two in a row, Melissa!). I loved the action and drama that started, and snowballed into this terrific ending that was so ironic, it was funny. I’m not entirely fanatic about this book, but I did feel satisfied and happy by the end. So long, Wicked Lovely!

myrating

justbreezy!

One thought on “Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr

  1. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week #3 | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

