If I were a Fictional Character (#2)- Riley Carver from Outcast!

ifiwereafictionalcharacter

This is my new feature on Breezy Reads which aims to show a little bit about myself – but keeping it book related! Here I’ll compare myself to one of my favourite characters in a YA novel. It could be anything from a personality trait, looks, habit, likes or dislikes!

So, last week I shared my crazy love for Outcast by Adrienne Kress in my review . This week, I compare myself to one of my favourite YA character ever.

Let’s welcome Riley Carver to Breezy Reads!

Riley is our lead character in Outcast by Adrienne Kress. With the whole story told in her first person perspective, we get to know her pretty well. One thing that stood out for me though, is how careful she is about what she says. Basically, she thinks before she speaks.

This is how we are we alike: We both think before we speak.

For me, I seriously think about almost everything that comes out of my mouth. Sometimes I have a stupid moment or two, where words come out in the wrong order or something doesn’t come out right. But otherwise, I am really careful. I’m afraid of offending people. Of saying something wrong. Of people taking my words out of my mouth and judge me by them.

tumblr_inline_msoe1hZ1DP1qz4rgp

I guess this is both a bad and good thing. Good, because sometimes the first thing that comes to mind isn’t the most appropriate, and I’m thoroughly glad no one can hear those. Bad, because I shouldn’t be afraid to speak my mind and feel like I’m being judged on my words. Of course I will be judged. I really just need to have some confidence and get over it.

Also bad – because most people think I’m a boring mute. If people strike a conversation up with me or a group, I think about what I say (unless I’m comfortable around the person) and most of the time, my answer comes out delayed, or not a very good, somewhat vague answer, because I’m too conscious of saying everything else that came to mind.

awkward-1

I think me and Riley definitely have this in common.

In the book, we usually get a glimpse into Riley’s thoughts before she says something, and it’s often opposite to what she says. Even though she insists she doesn’t care what people think of her, she talks about hating to stand out, and having to feel comfortable around people to speak her mind.

Lets have some examples, shall we?

YAY, QUOTES!
tumblr_m70fnuLAM41rzlprio1_500

 

“Well?” She asked.
“We’re good”. No I’m not. I’m not good at all.

“Yeah, I guess” It sounded pretty flaky to me.

“Don’t worry” I said, though I did. I worried greatly. I couldn’t remember the last time I’d worn a bathing suit.

“How do I look, sweetheart?”
Hot. Fantastic. Totally like James Dean.
“Like you.”

“So many questions. Miss Carver. There are things you just have to feel to understand.”
Well, that meant absolutely nothing, and could you please let go of my face? Your palms are really wet.
“Okay,” I said.

You see what I mean? There are so many better examples in the book, but I couldn’t be bothered going through my entire e-copy.

But anyway, there’s more! Remember when I said I have to be comfortable around someone to speak my mind to them? So does Riley!

I find it so unbelievable easy to talk to my two besties, my boyfriend and my dad. I can say absolutely anything to them and not even think twice about it.

Riley? She can say absolutely anything to her parents, which she has an amazing relationship with.  We assume the same goes for bestie Chris (even though we never see him) and it nearly always goes for Gabe. Unless she’s drooling over his hotness. Then she keeps quite.

{Gabe}“I’m not a good boy either.” (…)
No, you’re not.
“No, you’re not. You’re you. (…)

Does anyone else see that obvious change? She says exactly what she thinks.

I’m still loving this feature! Comparing myself to my favourite characters is beyond awesome. And putting this down and discussing Riley in depth has made her so much more real. I don’t think I could like her more!

What do you think of my comparison this week? Could you compare with Riley’s urge not to stand out? Do you also think before you speak? Or are you totally opposite and blurt the first thing that comes to mind? 

6 thoughts on “If I were a Fictional Character (#2)- Riley Carver from Outcast!

  1. I really feel like I need to read this book now! I never say what I’m thinking. I always say what I “think” people want to hear…but I’m super painfully shy. >.< If I can even stammer out an answer, then it's a good day. Haha. Riley sounds aaaamazing and totally relatable. I'm loving this new feature too, btw!

    • Oh gosh, so am I. :l It’s gotten better as I’ve gotten older. But still, I’m not the most out going. I’ve just learnt to actually speak to people when I have too.

      Riley is da best! 😀 And I bet you would – I’ve noticed that you totally have a thing for talking about characters in depth in your reviews. 😛

  2. Awesome comparison Brea, I just LOVED Outcast by Adrienne Kress, it’s a shame that not many people know about it! Riley was such a refreshing, charming character that spoke her mind and I admired her for it. Glad to hear you share the same traits.

    • I know! I even been told by some people that they decided not to read it because it sounded too cheesy. Cheesy! Pfft!
      I certainly agree. Riley is a fantastic character!
      Thanks for commenting, Jeann! (:

  3. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week #3 | Breezy Reads

  4. You’re so cool! I don’t think I’ve read through anything like that before.
    So nice to discover someone with unique thoughts
    on this subject. Really.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This site is something that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

Leave a Reply

