Musical Books – If I Stay & Where She Went

musical books

Hi guys! On Monday I shared my history with If I Stay by Gayle Forman and shared the trailer for the upcoming movie. Today, I share the music I place with the story! Musical books is a feature where I share music that matches with the book. The song either expresses a mood, or the lyrics portray a certain emotion that I associate with the story. 

To those who have not read the book – I have been careful to avoid most spoilers, but I do mention more than what may be in the synopsis (I know the blurb on my copy is incredible vague). I’m only giving the story basics, it’s up to you if you want to continue. Otherwise, I have a summary of the songs at the end that you can take a looky at.🙂

For me, If I Stay was an incredibly powerful book that focusses on the value of life. It takes place after a car crash has devastated the life of Mia, who is having an out of body experience. It has a ton of delicious characters and thought provoking themes. So naturally, a lot of the songs I have chosen look at making choices and what is worth living for.

Also in this post, I’m going to give you the full journey. I’m also including songs for Where She Went – a story told in the perspective of Mia’s boyfriend, Adam. Gorgeous Adam, whose life is just as tormented as Mia’s after the crash.

Starting with book #1 If I Stay.

Come Away to the Water by Maroon 5

Yes, this song is featured in Catching Fire, but, I think it brings a haunting, creepy feeling for the car crash scene.

Say Something by A Great Big World (Feat Christina Aguilera)

And I am feeling so small
It was over my head
I know nothing at all

And I will stumble and fall
I’m still learning to love
Just starting to crawl

Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you
Anywhere I would’ve followed you”

This song is featured in the trailer, so now I can’t not associate it with the book. I can definitely see this from Adam’s point of view as he see’s Mia’s condition. Just not the giving up part. Never.

The Power of Love by Gabrielle Aplin

The power of love
A force from above
Cleaning my soul
Flame on burn desire
Love with tongues of fire
Purge the soul
Make love your goal”

This song has become pretty famous through that new TV series, Resurrection. But otherwise, I think it speaks worlds. Even the title “Power of Love” is a huge theme in the book. The power of Mia’s family’s love, of Adam’s and her friends. The power of her love for all these people. It’s a huge factor that plays out in the story.

Closer to the Edge by 30 seconds to Mars

“I don’t remember the moment I tried to forget
I lost myself, is it better not said
Now I’m closer to the edge

I like to think this goes well towards the end. Of the realization of choice and making that leap. To live or not after such an experience is what I’d say is jumping off the edge.

Let Her Go by Passenger 

“Only know you’ve been high when you’re feeling low
Only hate the road when you’re missin’ home
Only know you love her when you let her go”

This one of for Adam – and it comes back to bite him in book two.

Where She Went Playlist

Breakeven by Script

“I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayin’ to a God that I don’t believe in
‘Cause I got time while she got freedom
‘Cause when a heart breaks, no, it don’t break even”

This song! It’s perfect. Nothing could explain Adam’s situation better. (For some reason, I can’t get the video to work. The link will take you to it).

Just a Dream by Nelly

“But wait, I guess that love wasn’t enough
I’m going through it every time that I’m alone
And now I’m missing, wishing she’d pick up the phone
But she made the decision that she wanted to move on
Cause I was wrong

I was thinking ’bout her, thinking ’bout me
Thinking ’bout us, what we gon’ be
Open my eyes yeah, it was only just a dream
So I travelled back, down that road
Will she come back, no one knows
I realize yeah, it was only just a dream”

I feel this song could be Adam’s Anthem for the first half of the book (if only it weren’t rap – rap for a rockstar? Uh, no). But the sort of depressed obsession with what could have been, feelings of regret and longing, and of wondering what is not? Definitely works with the first half of this book. Just need to stick in some anger.

Numb by Linkin Park

“I’ve become so numb, I can’t feel you there
Become so tired, so much more aware
I’m becoming this, all I want to do
Is be more like me and be less like you”

Adam, again. But he probably doesn’t realise his numbness for a long time. Not until he begins to feel again. I also believe the genre of music is much better for him than the rap.

From Yesterday – 30 seconds to Mars

“He’s a stranger to some
And a vision to none
He can never get enough,
Get enough of the one

For a fortune he’d quit
But it’s hard to admit
How it ends and begins
On his face is a map of the world
(A map of the world)
On his face is a map of the world
(A map of the world)
From yesterday, it’s coming!
From yesterday, the fear!
From yesterday, it calls him
But he doesn’t want to read the message here”

 It’s hard to explain my reasoning for this one. I can picture it for both Mia’s and Adam’s perspective in fragmented bits of lyrics. I can see Mia finding her comfort in Adam again, and I can see Adam finding his freedom and passion again – all changed in the space of a day.

You got something I need
In this world full of people there’s one killing me
And if we only die once, (hey)
I wanna die with you (you, you, you)

I dedicate this one to their reconnection and future.

SUMMARY

If I Stay

Come Away to the Water by Maroon 5

Say Something by A Great Big World (Feat Christina Aguilera)

The Power of Love by Gabrielle Aplin

Closer to the Edge by 30 Seconds to Mars

Let Her Go by Passenger 

Where She Went

Breakeven by Script

Just a Dream by Nelly

Numb by Linkin Park

From Yesterday – 30 Seconds to Mars

Something I Need by OneRepublic

Hope you guys enjoy the playlist! Who else listens to music whilst reading? If you have read the book, do you thin these songs represent the stories well? 

 

5 thoughts on “Musical Books – If I Stay & Where She Went

  1. I haven’t read Where She Went (need to fix that!), but I can easily associate Numb with Adam’s character, and the snippet I read from WSW.

    Honestly, Say Something is a song I can see fitting ANY book – even the one I’m writing! I swear it was made to give me uber feels -_-

    • Oooh, you are writing a book!😀
      That’s so cool Kayla! And I agree, Say Something gives me the shivers every time I hear it.

  2. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week (#4) | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

