Burn Mark by Laura Powell

Burn Mark by Laura Powell

Genre: YA, paranormal (witchcraft)

Published: June, 2012 by Bloomsbury

I bought my own paperback copy of Burn Mark

12971669

In a modern world where witches are hunted down and burned at the stake, two lives intersect. Glory is from a family of witches, and is desperate to develop her ‘Fae’ powers and become a witch herself, though witch-activity carries a threat of being burned at the stake. Lucas is the son of the Chief Prosecutor for the Inquisition with a privileged life very different from the witches he is being trained to prosecute. And then one day, both Glory and Lucas develop the Fae. In one fell stroke, their lives are inextricably bound together.

 

 

inabreeze

I was surprised by Burn Mark, in a good way! I thought it was a very original take on witchcraft in the modern world. I thoroughly enjoyed the two perspectives portrayed and the difference witchcraft makes to society. My biggest concern was that there could’ve been more clarity in the plot line.

thewindstorm

A great thing about Burn Mark was the world it created. It has taken the burnings of the middle ages and brought it forth into the modern world. I like how the author has taken into consideration how witchcraft would change our current world, including socio economic status, jobs, crime management and discriminatory and moral issues.

I really liked how the two main characters, Glory and Lucas, embody this and show two different sides of the spectrum. Lucas grew up wealthy and has strong beliefs when it comes to witchcraft – thinking that it is dirty and wrong. While Glory is the last in line of a family of powerful witches, and has grown up in a place the puts witchcraft on a pedestal to be honored. Though this also puts her in the family business of crime, secrecy and sometimes poverty.

I thought these two characters were really well developed. I like how their opposite upbringing creates a clash of morals and beliefs. I could see how they have grown from their background and how the exposure to other lives and perceptions brings about strength and change.

I didn’t necessarily connect with these characters. However, I did find myself shipping for them. Nothing much happens between them in this book, but there are some signs of a spark, which really makes me want to read the next book!

I did think this story started a bit slow, because the introduction took a long time to detail the world. It did this without info-dumping, though. Another problem I had was that there were so many different characters, names and relationships to remember! This is okay for such a long book, but it lead to some issues concerning the plot.

I liked how there was a plot to push the story along, but I found it hard to keep up and understand the plot with so many different characters and sub plots and mystery’s. It did come together towards the end, though there were still some loose strings that could have been tidied up.

On the other hand, THANK YOU to Powell for taking the time to explain magic! I feel like this aspect in books is sorta skimmed over – not very detailed, vague and mysterious. I just love how Burn Mark really fleshes out the magic bit; it’s brilliant! Plot issues aside, I really enjoyed Burn Mark and will be reading the next one!

myrating

justbreezy!

Leave a Reply

