Fated by Sarah Alderson

fated

Fated by Sarah Alderson

Genre: YA, Paranormal

Published: 2012, January by Simon & Schuster 

Source: I bought my own copy from Basement Books. 

Format: Paperback 

Goodreads 

When Evie Tremain discovers that she’s the last in a long line of Demon slayers and that she’s being hunted by an elite band of assassins –Shapeshifters, Vampires and Mixen demons amongst them – she knows she can’t run. They’ll find her wherever she goes. Instead she must learn to stand and fight.

But when the half-human, half-Shadow Warrior Lucas Gray is sent to spy on Evie and then ordered to kill her before she can fulfil a dangerous prophecy, their fates become inextricably linked. The war that has raged for one thousand years between humans and demons is about to reach a devastating and inevitable conclusion. Either one or both of them will die before this war ends.

If your life becomes bound to another’s, what will it take to sever it?

inabreeze

Fated by Sarah Alderson was a quick, short and enjoyable read. It fell flat in certain area’s of the story line, such as romance and certain character motives. But otherwise I really enjoyed its quirkiness, action and different outlook on fate.

thewindstorm

In Fated, we are thrust into a world of Unhumans and demons hunters – humans equipped with extra skills to kill off these creatures from other dimensions. I thought the whole concept was cool – especially since we get the perspective from someone who is deep into the society of unhuman’s – giving them personality and edge, rather than just an evil entity that needs to die.

So of course, we have our MC Evie, who is naively unaware of what she is and what she is capable of until someone comes around and has to explain it all to her. Normally, I hate this kind of info-dumping in books. Strangely though, this is an exception. I didn’t mind it at all and was captivated by the idea of demon hunters. Maybe it was because we get the insider perspective, or maybe it’s because of my inner Buffy days shining through. Either way, I didn’t have a problem with the stranger-come-along-and-info-dumps-everything scenario for a change.

I also loved how this concept made the book action packed. There were a few unclear moments in the fight scenes, but otherwise, it was kickass. Again, my childhood love of Buffy comes back! The action was great!

It was refreshing to see that the book wasn’t too one-dimensional. The good guys were bad guys, too. The badies could be a bit more realistic and multi-sided – as the only thing I got from them was want of death, power and world dominion. But otherwise, the fact that they were real with personalities and desires makes up for that. They weren’t just evil.

As you can tell by the title, “fate” is a major theme in this book. Now, I really hate fate in books (skip ahead to see how much). But in Fated, it had a twisted outlook and conclusion of fate. It’s more like you have to break and defeat fate to make destiny happen. If that makes sense… Anyway, I liked it!

So now to the character’s – I really loved our female lead, Evie. Even though I called her naive before, she really isn’t like that in personality. I totally believed her and found her utterly believable. Her pain and heartbreak and reaction to her experiences was very realistic. I found myself raging and crying with her. Feeling numb when she felt numb. Angry when she was angry. Passionate when she stood up for herself. There was a little bit in the middle when she turned into a sooky, defeated, “FML” kind of person, but otherwise I could really connect and feel for her.

Lucas, on the other hand, I didn’t feel much for at all. I thought he was totally gorgeous, yeah, but he fell flat in personality for me. I didn’t feel his angst or pain. I couldn’t connect with him. The only thing I did like, is that he was our link to the unhumans, being half unhuman himself. He did pose another terrible cliché in the book (fated is just full of them), but instead I didn’t like this one and hated it immensely because I couldn’t see the purpose. Another reason I couldn’t connect with him, is because I couldn’t believe his motives which boils down to the poor representation of love between Evie and Lucas.

Okay, so even though the title of “Fated” looks more into the plot, it could have also been the title for the romance. I couldn’t shake the feeling that it was “meant” to happen – making it entirely to sappy and fake for my liking. And really, if these two didn’t fall in love, the rest of the plot wouldn’t have happened and therefore destiny wouldn’t have happened. So there. They fell in love ‘cause destiny told them too. Making it cheesy and fake with no sustenance. Just, no.

If only the love felt a little more real , then I could have given this a killer rating. For me, that’s a big component of the book and it just didn’t work. So I’m giving this a three today. I loved Evie, felt disconnected from Lucas, soaked up the action and was very, very disappointed by the romance, despite swoony Lucas.


asoftbreeze

2 thoughts on “Fated by Sarah Alderson

  1. Pingback: Love ‘n’ Fate, Breezy Hate | Breezy Reads

  2. Pingback: Breezy’s Bookish Week (5) | Breezy Reads

Leave a Reply

