Jessica Shirvington’s Between The Lives blew my mind

betweenthelivesBetween the Lives by Jessica Shirvington

Published: (this edition) August 2014 by Orchard Books 

Genre: Romance, Contemp/Fantasy

Format: eBook

Rating: An impressive gust! Four birdies

I received an ecopy of Between the Lives to review from Netgalley – this in no way effects my opinion

The perfect life or the perfect love. You choose.

For as long as she can remember, Sabine has lived two lives. Every 24 hours she shifts to her ‘other’ life – a life where she is exactly the same, but absolutely everything else is different: different family, different friends, different social expectations. In one life she has a sister, in the other she does not. In one life she’s a straight-A student with the perfect boyfriend, in the other she’s considered a reckless delinquent. Nothing about her situation has ever changed, until the day when she discovers a glitch: the arm she breaks in one life is perfectly fine in the other.

With this new knowledge, Sabine begins a series of increasingly risky experiments that bring her dangerously close to the life she’s always wanted. But if she can only have one life, which is the one she’ll choose?

A compelling psychological thriller about a girl who lives two parallel lives – this is Sliding Doors for the YA audience

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A book with heartfelt meaning, overflowing with messages and exploding with serious questions and concepts – I really loved this carefully plotted story

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Between the Lives was creepy, awesome, interesting and meaningful. This is my first read from Shirvington, and I’m impressed! I really enjoyed this book and its quirkiness. The only downside for me was that the romance was a little rushed, but otherwise, I have nothing but good to say!

Between the Lives follows Sabine, who literally lives a double life. She resides in two different realities, where she is the same, but her situation is not. She “shifts” every 24 hours at midnight into a her other life. The story takes place after Sabine realizes a difference in her lives that could change everything.

First up, I really loved the concept and I totally congratulate Shirvington for writing it so carefully. I love the idea of having lives in two different realities and being aware of them. I could see so many opportunities for plot holes and inconsistencies, except there weren’t any. Nope. They were carefully avoided or they were explained in detail. Which is awesome! My mind kept trying to pick at things, but it couldn’t. Leaving me to read in peace.

I really enjoyed the characters in Between the Lives, though some were a bit cliché. It’s hard for me to say if Sabine was developed or not, because, she was two different people. But then again, even though she was different, it was because she forced herself to be different, and it’s that underlying voice that we get a real picture of. She’s the same person with this ideal that she has to be a certain way in each world; not understanding that she can just be herself.

Meaning! This book was more than just your action packed, tell-a-story book, but it held meaning and depth which I just love. Life should be treasured is one meaning, whilst the other I saw was about being yourself. I thought both were explored and portrayed really well!

In saying this, I didn’t believe the romance in Between the Lives. It was there, but I think it was a little too rushed to have the depth it was meant to have. I almost believed it, but I needed a little more connection and a little slower/ more gradual climax for total impact.

Otherwise, Between the Lives had just enough description to satisfy my needs, and I liked how each world was complex, how everything wasn’t perfect or bad. Her journey to deciding which life is better is interesting and sets up some great questions!  I didn’t quite connect with the romance, though the plot, characters and messages the book explores are great! I definitely recommend Between the Lives!

  • The content in Between the Lives is explicit. I recommend for older teens and up.

myrating

justbreezy!

2 thoughts on “Jessica Shirvington’s Between The Lives blew my mind

  1. Fantastic review, Brea! I’ve been wanting to read this since it’s publication, but I haven’t picked it up yet…so glad you enjoyed it! I’m so glad to hear that each world was complex and that the characters were enjoyable. 🙂

  2. I didn’t even have this one on my radar – I love Jess as a writer she is amazing and generally one of my auto-buys you should check out Embrace (first in the violent Eden series) and Disruption!
    Her books don’t usually have rushed romance but maybe as this sounds like a one off she squished all the good bits in too quickly!
    This sounds like a really interesting concept – one you don’t read often. Thanks for the great review – I’m definitely adding this to my read pile.

Leave a Reply

